What is the first thing you do when you wake up?

Take my dog, Cooper out

What is your go-to for breakfast?

Oatmeal in almond milk and a cup of chai

Tell us about a typical day at work. For example, what did you do all day yesterday?

My work day varies on where I am working from- my days at the brrrº HQ – are fast paced. My day consists of answering emails, helping my colleagues understand textile science-related concepts, being on sales calls, reading testing protocols and test reports.

My days at the lab are more precise and meticulous- I make sure there is no contamination in the testing of samples. I prep samples in the most appropriate way, go back and forth to decide on the best way of analysis and I read a copious number of journal articles and test protocols.

What key skills do you need to do your job?

A keen eye for detail, a flair for reading technical articles/ reports/ protocols and communicating the complex science jargon in simpler terms. I also enjoy presenting and explaining the nuances of the brrrº technology to a wide variety of audiences right from performance textile industry veterans to new adopters of the technology.

What is the hardest part of your job, and why?

The hardest part of my job is not having enough hours in the day to do all my projects. I wish every day had 72 hours so I could keep brrrº-ing for longer.😊

What’s the best part of your job?

I balance a variety of projects from lab-related tasks to more public client-facing tasks which is exciting. This variety is exactly what I had hoped and wished for from my career and I am extremely blessed to have received this range of things.

What three words would colleagues use to describe you?

Helpful, energetic, doc 😀

When you need a moment to clear your head at work, how do you do that?

I either take a walk or sip on some green tea.

What is a typical evening like for you?

I like my evenings to be filled with social events. Being around people energizes me and I like talking to people (I end up talking about brrrº technology A LOT !! haha). I also like running, cooking and exploring new trails around Atlanta and Athens.

If there were extra hours in the day, how would you spend them?

Probably reading more science articles and trying to understand why things are the way they are. I would also probably volunteer more hours working in the local Athens community.

What’s the best advice someone has given you?

“If you really want something, give it your all and give it all the time.”

If you could have a do-over for something in your professional life, what would it be?

I would have done more internships while I was in school.

 

7 Things You Didn’t Know About Apurba:

Where are you from (hometown):

Mumbai, Maharashtra

Where did you go to college:

Mumbai (India), Fort Collins, Colorado, and Athens, Georgia

Favorite Hobbies/Activities:

Photography (especially when I combine that with travel)

Favorite travel destination:

The mountains – The Rockies thus far

Favorite colors:

Black, blue and green

Fun Fact:

I have a strong belief in past lives and in reincarnations and I feel like I used to be a dog in my past life !! 😀

Favorite Quote or Saying:

We rise by lifting others!

Chief Scientist, Apurba with her Pup, Cooper